CITY OF BERLIN COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY, August 1st, 2023 7:00 PM COMMON COUNCIL CHAMBERS

Mayor Bruessel called the Committee of the Whole meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Present: Ald Boeck, Burgess, Dretske, Durtschi, Nigbor and Stobbe. Staff present: Sara Rutkowski, Caitlin Hilgart, and Scott Zabel.

There are no virtual attendees that required seating.

Dretske made a motion to approve the minutes from the June 6th, 2023 Committee of the Whole Meeting. Burgess seconded the motion which passed on a voice vote.

Next was item # 5 Liquor License Approval Guidelines. Rutkowski presented the idea of drafting a policy documenting guideline being made by the Council for the Liquor License applications when there are multiple applicants. Discussion was held on what the Council would be looking for and like to see included. Council directed staff to look into other municipality's and what guide lines they have in place. No action was needed and will be addressed at a later date.

Item #6 was the Urban Forestry Grant for Emerald Ash Borer. Rutkowski and Zabel presented that this is an \$5000.00 matching grant from the DNR for Urban Forestry Grant for Emerald Ash Borer for assistants in remove the trees. There was discussion held on tree inventory and the Urban Forestry program and plan the City has in place. Burgess made a motion to recommend to Common Council to allow staff to apply for matching grant from DNR for Urban Forestry Grant for the Emerald Ash Borer. Durtschi seconded the motion which passed on a voice vote.

Item #7 was the Taxi Service Request for Bids 2024-2029. Rutkowski presented that the taxi runs on a 5-year contract and 2023 is the last year of the City's current contract. Discussion was held on the budget cost and bidding process for the contract and the importunateness of the taxi in the community. No action was required, Council directed staff to go forward with a request for proposal for taxi services for the years 2024-2029.

Nigbor made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:22 pm, which was seconded by Burgess, and passed on a voice vote.

Caitlin Hilgart, Deputy Clerk