City Council

City Council

Mayor and Council Members:

The Mayor is elected at large for a two-year term. He/she presides at meetings of the Council and certifies the passage of all ordinances and resolutions passed by it. The Mayor votes in the case of a tie vote and has the power to veto ordinances and resolutions passed by the Council.

Please note: The Mayor is not a full-time position and does not maintain office hours at City Hall.

Mayor Joel Bruessel

Mayor Bruessel was elected as Mayor in 2021. The current term ends April 2023.

Phone: 920-361-5403
Mobile: 920-639-4968


Nomination Papers for Mayor & Common Council






Berlin City Common Council

The following Ward Maps are not perfect and are of estimated areas. If you would like to know for certain which ward your address falls in, please check and search by address.

Full City WARD MAP








The common council is comprised of six members who are elected, by Ward, for alternating two-year terms, even numbered wards elected in odd number years and odd number wards in even number years.

The Common Council is the legislative branch of city government. The primary business of the common council is the passage of laws in the form of ordinances or resolutions which shall prescribe what the law shall be, not only in relation to the particular facts existing at the time, but as to all future cases arising under it. The common council shall fix the salaries of all officers and employees of the city, and be charged with the official management of the city’s financial affairs, budget and revenues, and the raising of funds necessary for the operation of the city as set forth in section 2-47 of the municipal ordinances.

Please note: The City’s elected officials are not full-time positions and they do not maintain office hours at City Hall.

Council Member Luke Dretske, Alderperson Ward 1 and Ward 7

Alderperson Dretske was elected to a two-year term by Berlin voters in April 2022. His current term ends April 2024.

Phone: 920-238-6614

Council Member Roberta Erdmann, Alderperson Ward 2

Alderperson Erdmann was appointed to the common council in 2004 and elected in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2021. Her current term ends April 2023 Erdmann made history when she was elected the Mayor of Berlin from 2005-2007.

Phone: 920-361-2460

Alderperson Erdmann will not be running for re-election in April of 2023. See attached Filing of Non-Candidacy.

If you are interested in running for Ward 2 Alderperson, please stop in at City Hall for papers and more information.

Council Member Kristina Boeck, Alderperson Ward 3

Alderperson Boeck was elected to a two-year term by Berlin voters in April 2018, 2020 and 2022. Her current term ends April 2024.

Phone: 920-290-5833

Council Member , Samantha Stobbe, Ward 4

Alderman Stobbe was elected to fill a special one-year term by Berlin voters in 2022. Her current term ends in April 2023.

Phone: 920-229-6258

Council Member Joshua Nigbor, Alderperson Ward 5

Alderperson Nigbor was appointed by City Council to fill a vacancy in the 5th Ward on 01/29/2019 and elected to a two-year term by Berlin voters in April 2020 and 2022. His current term ends April 2024.

Phone: 920-229-6012

Council Member Catrina Burgess, Alderperson Ward 6

Alderperson Burgess was elected to a two-year term by Berlin voters in April 2021. Her current term expires April 2023.

Phone: 920-229-9860

The Common Council generally meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 7 p.m., and the Committee of the Whole meets the first Tuesday of the month at 7 p.m. Meetings are held in the Council Chambers on the second floor at City Hall, located at 108 N. Capron St. Special meetings are also held when required. Contact the City Clerk for a specific meeting schedule at 920-361-5400.

All meetings are open to the public, although on occasion the Council may meet in closed session to discuss a subject permitted by the Wisconsin Open Meetings Law to be held in closed session (such as negotiations, personnel evaluations, property purchases or other strategic matters).

Public notice is given of all meetings, including closed sessions, stating the date, time, location and topics to be considered. All meeting notices are posted on the bulletin board located on the first floor of City Hall. The full agenda packet with copies of ordinances, resolutions, reports and other supporting documentation is available for public review at the City Clerk’s office prior to each meeting. Public participation is encouraged and can be done through the Public Participation Policy where a member of the public can register to speak on an issue by submitting a Public Participation Registration Form to the Mayor or City Clerk prior to the start of the meeting.